About | Contact | JOIN

International Energy Conservation Code (IECC)

The IECC regulates minimum energy-conservation requirements for new buildings using prescriptive and performance provisions. The IECC addresses energy-conservation requirements for commercial and residential construction. It provides requirements for all types of building energy uses, including heating and ventilating, air-conditioning, electrical lighting, water heating, and power usage for appliances and building systems. The IECC also provides minimum requirements for building envelope and building systems insulation, including wall and roof insulation, windows and doors, mechanical system duct insulation and water distribution system insulation.

Most energy codes in the U.S. have adopted one of several editions of the IECC as their technical basis. In some instances, individual states or other jurisdictions modify the IECC to address specific regional or local issues.

Click here for additional information regarding energy codes, including state energy code adoptions, roofing-related energy code requirements and NRCA's EnergyWise Roof Calculator Online.

According to the International Code Council, the developer and publisher of IECC, state and local jurisdictions in 45 states, the District of Columbia, New York City, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands use a version of IECC as the technical basis for their adopted building codes.

Roofing industry news

[ More news ]


Find a contractor

Roof type

ZIP Code

Find roofing contractors by state

Sponsored link